Saturday, November 5, 2022

Object Lesson: Why you have to keep in mind the actual situation and do some research...

"Fair or Extremely Foul?  Horrendous Roughing The Kicker Call Costs Mizzou"

Eric Blum of Deadspin tries to invoke common sense on a call which aided Kentucky in beating Missouri today.

Here's the video:

Roughing the kicker was called.

Eric Blum was slamming that this would mean the tackle box extends about 100 miles.

Let's take a look at the rule (The NCAA only sells their football rule book, but the Texas Association of Sports Officials provides it):

Rule 9, Part 1, Section 16 is the Roughing the Kicker rule:

ARTICLE 16. a. When it is obvious that a scrimmage kick will be made, no opponent shall run into or rough the kicker or the holder of a place kick (A.R. 9-1-16-I, III and VI).

1. Roughing is a live-ball personal foul that endangers the kicker or holder.

2. Running into the kicker or holder is a live-ball foul that occurs when the kicker or holder is displaced from their kicking or holding position but is not roughed (A.R. 9-1-16-II).

3. Incidental contact with a kicker or holder is not a foul.

4. The kicker’s protection under this rule ends (a) when the kicker has had a reasonable time to regain their balance (A.R. 9-1-16-IV); or (b) when the kicker carries or possesses the ball outside the tackle box (Rule 2-34) before kicking.

5. When a defensive player’s contact against the kicker or holder is caused by an opponent’s block (legal or illegal), there is no foul for running into or roughing. 

6. A player who makes contact with the kicker or holder after touching the kick is not charged with running into or roughing the kicker.

7. When a player other than one who blocks a scrimmage kick runs into or roughs the kicker or holder, it is a foul.

8. When in question whether the foul is running into or roughing, the foul is roughing.

Definition of the tackle box is in Rule 2, the Definitions Rule, Section 34:

ARTICLE 1. a. The tackle box is the rectangular area enclosed by the neutral zone, the two lines parallel to the sidelines five yards from the snapper, and Team A’s [the kicking team's] end line. (See Appendix D.)

b. The tackle box disintegrates when the ball leaves it.

I hate to break it to Mr. Blum:  The call is correct.  And the tackle box has to extend back that far for purposes of Intentional Grounding and the like...

So when you hear of the Controversial Call of the Week, do your research.  I try to, as much as I can.

No comments:

Post a Comment