Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Yeah, it's kinda that time...

Things slow down a bit for many (except for those who think every game they lose is rigged in Daily Fantasy)...

Here are a few things, though, to show I'm still here...  For now...

  • What could probably deserve a longer form situation is NIL's impact on March Madness.  The only real upset of the tournament was High Point beating a badly overrated Wisconsin team in a 5-12 upset.  Two years in a row now, the 13-14-15 seeds went 0-12.  There is now at least a groundswell of a call to basically end the Madness part of it and push the one-bid conferences to the NIT entirely.
  • As a result, we do have a new record perfect bracket, kinda.  For the first time in history (Center Road's -- which is still the record at 49 -- was in the Yahoo! game), ESPN actually got a perfect bracket into Day Four -- then Florida being upset blew it all up after 43 wins to start the tournament. 
  • A darker story of some human interest:  The good news is that there is a quadruple amputee (hands and feet) in Maryland who has somehow gained the skill to play professional cornhole.
  • The bad news is that, allegedly, he has also gained the skill to do something else:  Shoot a gun.  Dayton Webber is being charged with Murder 1, Murder 2, and other charges for shooting someone he had an argument with.

Saturday, March 14, 2026

Do they have the guts to move the Trump Transphobe Games?

USA Today reports today that the World Anti-Drug Association wants to ban Donald Trump and several major US officials from the Trump Transphobe Games in Los Angeles.  (And possibly the Trump Cup this summer.)

Just before the Transphobe Winter Games, the Trump administration pulled all dues money from WADA with respect to the United States.

Though this battle between WADA and the US does encompass both parties, I think I can safely say that this is a defense of the drug-ladened athlete culture in the United States, up to and including Cocaine Jr.'s (Trump's son Donald Jr.) support of the Enhanced Games in Las Vegas later this year, where cash prizes will be awarded to mostly-drugged athletes.

(I have to say MOSTLY-drugged because there IS, actually, at least one drug-free swimmer who wants to try his luck against the steroid freaks.) 

We can only hope this is a first move to remove the Trump Transphobe Games from Los Angeles and the Trump Cup from the United States and Mexico (let Canada host the whole thing if it can!)... 

Thursday, March 5, 2026

Why we can't just stick to sprots, Part II...

The rest of the political-registration survey from earlier was found by our friends at Close Call Sports and they published the findings on their Discord.  They finally also allowed me to find the link to the article with all of the information.

None of what at least the charts they publicized should be of any degree of surprise... 

A side chart on the NFL first...

Defense usually scales Democratic (by well over 30 points), offense and special teams Republican.

And don't fall for VoteHub's trying to sugar-coat it:  Quarterbacks skew Republican by about 13 points.

But the bigger lack of surprise is in the general findings:

  • One of the things I really felt would start happening is the abolition of the NBA and WNBA, in the favor of MAGA League Baseball and the NHL.
  • MLB is the most Republican-skewing of the major sports, with over 53% of those found registered Republican, only 7.8% Democrat. 
  • And I don't believe your rant at all, Firefox Pocket or SB Nation or whoever it was:  The NHL has been actively trying to position itself as The Winter Sport under Trump.
  • The NHL has the smallest Democratic registration of all the sports at less then 6%.  Republican?  Almost 44%.
  • I don't believe for a second that US MAGA celebration with the FBI director was either against what you believe in or a bad thing for the league.  It probably came at Bettman's direction!
  • The reason I think the NBA and WNBA are doomed if Trump ever gets around to being the President they REALLY voted for?  NBA:  42.9% Democrat, 10% Republican.
  • WNBA:  2.3% Republican.  13 teams in the WNBA, assume 15 roster spots (as in the NBA) per team.  That would mean, if a representative sample were found, precisely FOUR Republican players in the WNBA.
  • Democrat?  67.5%.  Or about a hundred and forty.

 

Monday, March 2, 2026

Oh boy...

On a day where there are far more important things than sports, and I might want to see if I can finally finish a series of posts for another blog, aimed at these stupid MAGA fucks, comes this story from Los Angeles:

On Saturday, Chad Baker-Mazara, ostensibly a USC basketball player, was injured in a late-season game.  After playing about three minutes of the second half, it is now apparent that Baker-Mazara is, somehow and for some reason, done with the Trojan program.

Baker-Mazara was apparently talking with a woman for much of the second half of the game.  Baker-Mazara was one of the leading scorers on the USC team.

He was an NIL transfer from Auburn.  USC was apparently his fourth school.  According to current reports, he's 26.

Current trolling meme (at least that's what's being alleged) is that Baker-Mazara is actually 32 with four children. 

But let's separate fact from (apparent) fiction:  He dipped on the USC program (or the USC program dipped on him) at some point Saturday.  The reasons do not appear non-suspicious:  SOMETHING went down.

Regardless of whether this apparent satire/meme account who's gotten a hold of this is trolling or not, one thing is for absolute certain:  Someone found out SOMETHING.

Saturday, February 21, 2026

Another sacrifice to football...

Rondale Moore.

Suicide by gun.

25.

Lost both knees the last 2-3 years to the fringes of the NFL. 

Wednesday, February 18, 2026

$uper Bowl $eahawk$: And there it is...

Ten days after the Seahawks were awarded Super Bowl LX, the Paul Allen Estate has begun the formal sale process.

And that is why they at least got in the game. 

Tuesday, February 17, 2026

Tanking in the NBA clouds a very prescient reality the NBA can't admit for it's financial future...

One of the largest topics in the recent NBA All-Star Weekend in Los Angeles was the continuing losing battle the NBA is fighting with "tanking" -- the practice of teams deliberately resting players to ostensibly lose games to improve their position in the NBA Draft the following season.

Adam Silver has actually now gone as far as possibly considering revoking draft picks (and he's not going to be able to do anything unless they are first-round draft picks in that regard), because he knows the fines, including a $500,000 fine applied to the Utah Jazz -- calling their violations of player participation "conduct detrimental to the league".

So how much does Mark Cuban get fined for saying today the NBA should accept and embrace tanking, in the name of the fans? 

Then you have a problem, Mr. Cuban.  A huge one.

The moment a fan can discern that every effort is not being made to win the game in progress, that fan is being financially and emotionally harmed by continuing to take part in the experience.  

Sometimes that is a night-to-night thing:  There are certainly games where almost every team is a substantial underdog or is seen that it is unlikely that they would win the given game.  This is understandable.

This is, however, a different process.  It is the deliberate understanding that the team is setting out to just survive the game, not get it's players injured for a game that it is not worth enough for them (micro or macro) to win.

At that point, why does a fan bother paying to see it?  And, writ larger, why do teams which continue to lose year after year after year be considered allowed to call themselves "professional" teams in the top-tier league?

Let's get some realities on "paper" here:

1) There are too many teams.

2) There are too many games.

3) There are too few players of sufficient "professional" caliber to support the number of teams or games that the league is bilking players, television partners, and corporate sponsors out of.

The fact is:  All four major professional leagues, in every idea except financial bottom line (which is why it won't be done) would do better either folding 25% of the teams or going promotion-relegation.

Make "professional", and top-tier professional at that, be earned.  You do it for the players -- why not force the same on the franchises?

The fact is (and it should've been demonstrated with the Foolish and Wretched One-Dimensional Ballhog, the National Bulls Broadcasting Company, and the National Bulls Association in the 1990's) that there aren't enough players to justify the existence of the number of professional teams in the top leagues in any of the major sports.

As a result, you are seeing pressures put on the NBA franchises to play top-flight players in the national televised games -- and it still doesn't help.

The fact is, there are just too many damn teams and no justification for a number of them to continue to exist.  And, in extreme cases, you get what happens in the NBA.

4) There is no legal ramification against a league fixing the games -- if Adam Silver really wants to prevent "tanking", he's going to have to state that it is an action outside of the league's allowed purview with respect to the manipulation of the contest's result, and punish accordingly.

5) It is of no secret that the games cost far too much money to attend, and that goes double when there's no assurance on the part of the two teams to actually provide a marketable contest.  

A fan can't recover for even a "tanked" game, just as he or she can't recover for a rigged one (only entitled to a seat and a result -- 2005 US Grand Prix lawsuit).  To actually provide the kind of fan experience Cuban wants, this MUST change, by any and all means necessary.

6) The games need to be believed to be on the level, because there's no way the tanking teams even believe the games are on the level -- much as many fans are basically certain the games are not.

If Adam Silver wants to prevent tanking, he has to take the following steps:

A) He has to basically admit the NBA (as the other professional sports have) has openly manipulated the games for their own benefit, financial and otherwise.  And that this process must stop.  The games must be officiated according to the rules and all efforts (including result reversal) must be on the table to ensure that what takes place on the court is the only factor which leads to the result.

B) He has to open the door to removal of teams.  This will probably never happen as organically or on a scale which needs to happen (see above), but the only way he's going to truly be able to prevent teams from tanking games is to put the nuclear option on the table -- once other means to improve fan experience and trust in the product are enacted.

In short, bad franchises need to die. 

C) The fact that teams with incompetent/lazy/greedy ownership can still advance through the ranks needs to be ended.  I'm about 70-80% toward getting rid of the NBA Draft entirely, and that can be a means in which bad franchises can rot and die.  At the barest of minimum, we need to get rid of the the worst team getting the best chance at the one or few relevant draft players. 

D) He needs to recognize that there will be games in which players need to be rested for their health and safety.