Friday, December 30, 2022

2022 NFL Week 16 After Further Review

Going a different route this week:  The "Controversial and Horrible Calls of the Week" video by BudLeeWiser.  The NFL rulebook can be found here.

Falcons-Ravens Intentional Grounding (0:00):  This one's good, Rule 8 Sec. 2 requires a pass to reach the line of scrimmage, regardless of where thrown.  Tackle box is irrelevant.

The horrible call is that the Falcons coach should've gotten 15 or even tossed for his tirade afterward, which extended into the halftime walk-off.

Later, same game, a holding call on the block which would've scored Corradelle Patterson a touchdown (1:34):  Actually, in the design of "holding on every play", before the blocked player goes down, you see a tug on the shoulder.  That's holding, grabbing a player without the ball in a position to gain an advantage (or, as the NFL rulebook puts it:  "materially restricting or altering the path or angle of pursuit").  This one's good -- but if the defensive player does not go down later (the holding comes earlier), it probably does not get called.  (12-3-c)  

But enforcement of offensive holding is often a tool which can dictate where a game is being rigged toward.

Rams-Broncos RTP on #5, 4th quarter (2:47):  That's not "small".  That's a CLEAR RTP on Gregory, and part of the $50,000 fine he has to eat this week.  Gregory shouldn't be playing this week (I think the suspension rescindings were wrong), and, if I were the NFL, tack on the UC and this RTP, and let the Players' Association appeal a two-gamer for Gregory.

Another 4th quarter RTP, Christmas Day, Packers-Dolphins (3:12):  If you need a definition of "unnecessary roughness", this is it.  The hit here isn't egregious, but it's a clear shove that was, by no means, necessary.  Rule 12, Section 2, Article 11 makes it clear that the defensive player is responsible and recognizes the "defenseless player" nature of the forward pass -- and not just by the receiver.  ANY PHYSICAL CONTACT unnecessary after the second foot touches the ground is RTP.  Rodgers is shuffling such that at least "three feet" have touched the ground.  All good here too.

Earlier in the same game (3:48):  Yeah, this one is wrong.  The rule is against "control or twist or turn in any direction". (12-2-15) The Packer runner is using the facemask to control the other player, not as a simple stiffarm.  That flag should've stood.  But then you had a helmet foul on Miami just afterward, as the Packer player lowered his helmet, but not to initiate contact.

Again, Packers-Dolphins, 3rd quarter with GB with the ball down 20-13 (4:20):  You get a real idea that the NFL had an agenda here, don't ya?  If you want to see "the ball moved" and hence an incomplete pass, here you go.  He loses control of the ball clearly in the replay.

And AGAIN, Packers-Dolphins, now tied 20-20 (4:46):  As Jake asked on one of his Top Ten (I think it might've been this play too...), why would you no-call this if you want the Packers to win?  It's not just result, but how you get there.  Clear DPI two-handed push-off for the pick.

Bigger thing:  That's Rodgers' 11th pick this year.  He's had 15 total the last four years.

Bills-Bears, Buffalo punting up 21-10 in the 3rd (5:25):  I can see where this goes south -- especially with the wind in Chicago.  The official blew the play dead when he thought the ball would advance no further, but then a gust of wind caused the ball to start moving again in a relevant direction.

The original audio shows that the ball was blown dead at the 11 when the official thought the ball stopped.

Chiefs-Seahawks, a false start on Seattle #63 (6:29):  I think I know what they called.  Simulating the snap on the center when he snaps his head down and back up again, for the purpose of attempting to draw exactly what happened.  The rulebook reads:  "Any quick abrupt movement by a single offensive player [...] which simulates the start of a snap is a false start."  (7-4-2)

Saints-Browns, holding call #78 Cleveland, tied at 10, 3rd quarter (7:15):  Unless you can gain control like that with one arm...

Same game, next series after a New Orleans score, 3rd and 13, defensive holding #29 on the Saints (7:37):  It's not much, but it IS holding.  He grasps him and actually briefly "encircles" him, which is the term the rulebook uses on D holding in that context (8-4-6).

Cardinals-Buccanners, Tampa 4th quarter punt down 9-6 (8:15):  They "missed" an "interference with the opportunity to catch" foul on Tampa there (10-1-1).  Item 2 makes it even clearer, the receiver has the right of way.  Oh gee, you think the league isn't protecting Tom Brady here?

Lions-Panthers, DPI on Carolina #21 first quarter, tied 7-7 (8:53):  There's no DPI.  Look at the second replay.

Chiefs-Seahawks (9:39), Seahawks down 17-0:  On the other hand, there's THIS blatant no-call to help the Chiefs.

Vikings-Giants (10:05), and watch carefully on the hit.  This isn't something you could probably pick up on in real time, but that's a flag.  The first contact IS helmet.

Back to Lions-Panthers (10:21):  This one is ALL GOOD.  Forward progress stopped, whistle blows, and then you take and 360 him into the ground?  No thank you!

The later discussion, however, is relevant:  It really does sound as if the penalty came as a result of the fracas, not the hit itself of it's own merit.

Bengals-Patriots, 22-0 Cincy, early second half (11:51):  Complete MUGGING no-call.

Chargers-Colts on this last one.  (12:16)  That's actually the same thing they called in the Chiefs-Seahawks game.  It's a simulation of the snap false start.  You snap the head up that quickly, it appears, to the defense, as if you snapped the ball -- and hence, that is effectively a snap infraction, in the vein of trying to draw the defense offside.  "Any quick abrupt movement..."

No comments:

Post a Comment