In his NFL Season 2011 page, as a 16.5.2 entry, a hat-tip goes out from author Brian Tuohy to an unlisted YouTube video by "Mihai", which documents a number of questionable calls in the game -- as well as the apparent fact that everyone on the field pretty much knew how many yards Brees had needed when.
So let's go over the video (it is unlisted on YouTube, so it is probably not meant to be directly linked to, hence it get too much attention from the Neanderthal Felon League and/or ESPN and get yanked as a result -- hence, the link is to Brian's season page with a note as to where to find it):
- After an introductory notation, we jump to the early second-quarter, with the Falcons leading the game 10-7 -- Brees is at 80 yards toward the 300 or so he needs for the record. A play-action pass is completed on 2nd and 10 for a reasonable gain, would've been a 3rd and 2 or so, but a late flag comes in "from the back" on Curtis Lofton for hitting a defenseless receiver. (As you can see below, he is also fined for this hit.) On the replay starting at the 45-second mark of the clip, the only question one might have is if the call is wrong. It doesn't look like Lofton "hits a defenseless receiver", but it does look like a case can be made for a marginal helmet-to-helmet call on him. The announcers don't seem to agree, and I can understand why there would be question there.
- My verdict: There was a penalty on the play, but not the one they called. Yes, Mihai, he didn't lead with the helmet, but that was helmet-to-helmet contact. The problem which should be more apparent is the actual penalty called -- that was *NOT* "hitting a defenseless receiver".
- The second play (1:15): 3rd and 5 from the Falcon 14, about 8 minutes later with the Saints now leading 14-10. Brees drops back and throws a harried attempt toward one of his receivers, who clearly appears to get mugged by Sean Weatherspoon, who gets the flag for the automatic first down. Yes, Mihai, the announcers did say that they didn't think he'd get the ball, but the problem is that the professional game (to it's great detriment) has not invoked the "uncatchable rule" that college has had.
- My verdict: Clear penalty, but if you want to go defensive holding, I won't stop you. (He'd probably get defensive holding in college rules anyway.) Again, the whole point is to understand that (at least IIRC), the "catch-ability" of the ball is not a factor in the discussion. Weatherspoon clearly is holding the receiver's other arm. Mihai notes that he feels Darrell Revis of the Jets gets away with this all the time. Mihai is not alone in that theory, as ESPN noted about comments from a Miami Dolphin receiver this week.
- The Saints do not score on that drive, however, and we go to the third play Mihai notes (2:12): 2nd and 10 for the Falcons at their 42, 3 1/2 minutes left in the half. Quarterback Matt Ryan goes back, Julio Jones makes a break to the ball, and it appears to the announcers and the rest of us that there is contact on the play.
- My verdict: Watch the slow-motion that comes afterward that Mihai has to splice in himself. If the Weatherspoon penalty is pass interference, so is that one. There is definite contact which bumps Jones off the play before the ball gets there.
- Fourth play (2:44): From the pre-play notes, it appears as if this is a holding situation or something, as if we are to watch Ray Edwards, the end on the far side of the defensive line, when he cuts. Still 14-10. 1:10 to go in the half, 3rd and 12 for the Saints in their own territory.
- My verdict: Edwards gets CLOTHESLINED on the play as the lineman (#64 for the Saints) Literally wraps his arm around Edwards' neck and takes him to the ground. Seven officials missed THAT??? A 43-yard completion to Meacham results.
- Fifth play (3:05): Holding situation, according to Mihai. 1st and Goal for the Saints, 30 seconds left in the half. Saints are out of time outs.
- My verdict: Clear holding no-call. Not only is the Falcon defender held going past Brees, but held to be prevented from going back to him. A 9-yard touchdown pass on that play makes it 21-10 near the half.
- Sixth play (3:35-ish): Another sorta-maybe push-off situation, as noted in the pre-play notes. 3rd and short, 30 yard line, just right at the half for the Falcons. Julio Jones gets victimized.
- My verdict: Asking quite a bit there, Mihai. Clearly, a pass interference call there gets a field goal chance, but I don't see where he's pushed forward at the end of the play there.
- Seventh play (4:05): Mihai asks us to recall the no-call on Edwards on the long Meacham completion. It's now 28-10, 5:59 to go in the third quarter. Falcons with a 3rd and 4 on the Saints 34. Matt Ryan goes back to pass, and completes a short pass past the marker to Gonzalez for the first down -- except there's a flag.
- My verdict: Hands to the face on #77 (Tyson Clabo) of the Falcons to end that threat. Again, it's the wrong call, as you watch the replay. Clabo's got his hands right in the guy's grill. That's a fifteen-yard facemask. There's no twisting -- there doesn't have to be. The refs are making it up as they go along.
- Eighth play (4:55-ish): A block in the back that he has to point out -- it's almost as if that, too, happens on nearly every play in which such a situation occurs. The Falcons get a field goal to make it 28-13, and this is the ensuing kickoff with 4:41 to play in the third quarter. Darren Sproles takes it and you are to watch what happens as he cuts to the outside.
- My verdict: At about the 17 yard line, a clear block in the back by the Saints' #35 (you can see it better on the replay -- and he has a great isolated replay just before the next play he shows to bring the point home!) springs Sproles for a HUGE return of 93 yards or so. Garbage no-call. Sproles would've scored except for a huge hustle play by Chris Owens to prevent the touchdown. Drive stalls for a field goal, though for 31-13.
- Ninth play (5:51-ish): Ensuing drive for the Falcons, 1st and 10 on their 31.
- My verdict: How in blazes can seven officials miss the nose tackle clearly in the neutral zone? How is that POSSIBLE???? In fact, I think he made contact, which would've killed the play outright. By this point, it's clear this is a fixed contest.
- Tenth play (6:25 or so): Next play on the drive, 2nd and 10, 1:51 left in the 3rd. Falcons QB Ryan goes back to pass and completes a play to beat the blitz over the middle -- but another flag.
- My verdict: This one is called a personal foul on the Saints. Ryan is downed, and Tom Johnson (#96) hits him with a forearm to the head. And the obvious question then needs to be asked if this foul took place: WHY IS HE NOT TOSSED? (ESPECIALLY WITH THE PROTECTION GRANTED THE QUARTERBACKS???) There's no replay of the play, though -- and even Mihai is left to wonder whether this was a makeup call.
- Eleventh play (7:13): Apparently a real egregious one here. It's now 38-16 in the fourth quarter, and the clip joins the situation in progress. The referees are in a huddle after a 3rd-down play for the Falcons near the end zone where the receiver is flagged for interference.
- My verdict: The receiver is held up once in the end zone in the middle by #41. Then a second time a few seconds after, and the receiver is flagged for putting him on the ground. But here's the kicker: The flag was only thrown when it appeared as if it was possible for him to score the touchdown. (This should remind people of the Bear-Packer punt return play, where the flag came out only when it was clear the Bears were going to score.) Drive stalls out.
- Twelfth play (8:02): The worst of the night, according to Mihai. 7:72 to go, and it's 38-16 to the Saints. Brees (still in the game to get the record) drops back to pass, scrambles out, and nearly gets a first down -- flag in the end zone appears to be holding on the Saints, which, by rule, would be a safety to make the game 38-18. Mihai also wishes to note the referee's explanation afterward.
- My verdict: "There is no hold on the play, since it is a screen pass, and the blocker was shedding him to the side..."
*facepalm*
*faint*
*gets up*
*faints again*
- Are you even fracking REMOTELY serious, Jeff Triplette?? There was no screen pass, or that was the most busted play in NFL history... By this time, it should be clear to everybody that the referees are making it up as they go along, since giving the Falcons possession probably ends Brees' pursuit of the passing yards record for the night -- and we all know this is MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Thirteenth play (9:14): At least give the Falcons credit -- they did more than the Dolphins did on Sunday. 4th and 1 on their own 33, still down 38-16 with about 5:13 to play. Ryan drops back to pass.
- My verdict: Mugging -- all over Julio Jones' shoulder as the ball comes in. But should Jones be surprised by this point?
- Final play shown (9:49): Still 38-16, and Brees is still in the game!! So the first question is: Why?
- My verdict: You find out why at the end of the play. The 9-yard touchdown pass to Darren Sproles makes it 44-16 -- and breaks the single-season passing yards record by three yards. The game is immediately stopped, as evidenced by the NFL Films guy right out in the ensuing mob. And he gets his curtain call with the ball.
Anyone still want to believe?