Watch this play, and watch the entire sequence of events:
Hopefully I got that right.
OK, let's walk through this.
#11 of the blue team, after starting in motion, starts doing back handsprings down the line.
The officials, having none of that, throw a flag (:05), and assess a 15-yard penalty on #11 for unsportsmanlike conduct (:26). You can also see the referee having an animated exchange with #11 after making the call, as, according to this refereeing forum, #11 had a previous unsportsmanlike conduct penalty, and was tossed from the contest.
"What's illegal about it?"
IT'S TAUNTING!!!
So the coach gets pissed and he gets on the field and engages one of the other officials, and, at the end of the clip, he gets a 15 yarder as well, and the thumb -- because HE TOO (same source) had a previous unsportsmanlike conduct call.
First, #11 should've been tossed in the first place, even if that was not the first unsportsmanlike call. That's taunting, drawing attention to oneself, and, apparently, he knew he was going to get flagged. Hit the showers just for that.
Then, that's his SECOND unsportsmanlike?
Then the coach gets involved and HE gets HIS SECOND???
You do realize there's a provision of the rules which allows the referees to forfeit such a contest for "making a mockery of the contest". Where's the forfeiture here?
No comments:
Post a Comment